Another Successful Spring Sports Banquet

Another Successful Spring Sports Banquet

As the school year and seasons wind down, the spring sports banquet is a great time for teams to highlight their best performers, on and off the field. Baseball, Mens and Womens Basketball, Rodeo, Track, Golf, Softball and the cheer and dance teams gave out rewards at the Banquet.

The Baseball team gave out several award on the night. Jackson Blancarte won pitcher of the year for the Ravens. Blancarte has appeared in 14 games this season on 12 starts and boast a 5-4 record with a 3.24 ERA and 71 strikeouts. Zac Freeman was awarded offensive player of the year. Zac played in 50 games this season batting .385 with 2 homeruns, 35 RBIs and 26 stolen bases. Grinder of the year award was given to Austin Bonnel who played in 52 games batting .301 with 5 home runs, which leads the Ravens, 28 RBIs and 5 stolen bases. The Ravens are on the road to play Colby CC in their Regional series.

The Golf team gave out 2 awards to their golfers. Cali Taylor was given the Special Recognition award. Michaela Ball was given the MVP award for the season. The Golf team finished their season April 20th in Hutchinson at regionals.

The Rodeo team gave out 1 award. Chance Merrill, who joined the team late, had to take 24 credit hours to be eligible to ride, even still he finished . Chance is a bareback rider who finished the season 3rd overall.

The Softball team gave out a few awards at the banquet. Sydney Rrooks was awarded the golden glove. Sydney is boasting a very impressive .982 fielding percentage on the season. Whitney Patterson was given the Raven Award for her sportsmanship, being a great teammate and showing what it means to be a Raven. Alexia Taylor won the Red Ravens MVP for the season throwing 116 innings and recording 102 strikeouts.

The Dance/Cheer team this year won the Region 6, 3rd place and 4th place in hip-hop. Brittney Eckles was given the best attitude award. Emily Garcia won the most improved on the year. Allie Wilson was awarded the most spirited award. Taeylor McMillan won the best crowd pleaser on the season for the Raven dance team. The Red Raven Cheer squad gave out 1 award to Kylee Brill and Rue Stewart-Skinner.

The Red Raven Track and Field team gave out several awards during the dinner. The Track team has won 10 straight conference titles. Azyairiah Griffin won the Red Raven track teams athlete of the year, and Don'Dre Swint won the athlete of the year for the guys. Brooklynne Wilson and Myles Marhofer won the Chase Dennis Heart of Champions Award in honor of Chase Dennis death.

Mens and Womens basketball basketball had plenty of awards to give out. Tevin Brewer won the KJCCC player of the year, Quawn Marshall won KJCCC defensive player of the year. Tevin Brewer and Marvin Johnson both won KJCCC first team. Casey Benton and Keon Queen was selected for KJCCC second team. Manny Crump, Quawn Marshall and Miekkle Murray were honorable mentions. The Women gave out 1 award to Tatiana McCree won second team all conference.

A great spring season and school year for the Red Ravens, keep flying Ravens!

           Story written by Brett Carson